Micah (micahellison) wrote in uw,
Micah
micahellison
uw

Room in University District house for Nov, Dec.

I'm in a group of seven UW students who are living in a great-looking 8 bedroom house up near 69th and 12th, a little bit north of campus and a short ways east of the northeast tip of Green Lake.

We're looking for somebody to live with us during the months of November and December.

Location - It's within a couple blocks of a QFC, and one more block to Whole Foods, Bartell's, Taco Del Mar, a bar or two (including the Scarlet Tree). It's a 10 minute walk to Green Lake. It's right on the 66 and 67 buslines, the fore of which will take you downtown and the latter of which goes directly into campus to the HUB. It's also not too far away from the 71, 72, 73, and 48.

House - Three floors, two kitchens, three full baths (bathtubs w/ showerheads). Three rooms on top, two on the ground floor, and three on the basement floor. Built in the 1920s, but the basement floor was recently remodeled. There's on-site laundry. There's a pool table (convertable to a ping pong table) on the ground floor. The house has a secluded backyard lawn as well. We're looking to fill one of the rooms in the recently renovated basement.

Group - We all get along really well. We're all juniors or seniors at the University of Washington. There's a fair amount of geekiness in the group: we've got a network security worker, a very avid reader, a physicist, and everybody here likes video games at least somewhat. We've also got a lot of creativity. Some of us are pianists and singers (don't worry, they live upstairs). Five of us are guys and two of us are girls. Also, don't worry, the house isn't bleeding nerdiness (except when the Dungeons and Dragons players are over). We still know how to function in the real world where people actually speak with one another to communicate instead of using the intarweb.

Lifestyle - We party a little, but we don't go nuts. We're between the ages of 20 and 22, so there will be some alcohol around though we are all pretty responsible. We all do the computer thing a lot. The house is fully-networked with high-speed Internet access and even a computer in the common area to play music that's shared on the network wherever we like. We've also got an 802.11g wireless network for those of you with laptops (it's secured with WEP).

Due Date - ASAP! One of our housemates recently moved out without hardly ANY notice and we need to fill the vacancy.

Money - $400/month. When you move in, you have to pay first and last month's rent plus $125 of the refundable security deposit. So that's $925 total, $125 of which is refundable when you move out, provided there are no damages beyond normal wear and tear.

What We Are Looking For - Someone nice, friendly, easy-going, responsible, with common sense and respect for others. Basically, if you know how to function in the real world, you'll fit right in.

A Few Rules - No pets (we love them, too, but our lease says we can't have them!) except fish. No jerks (duh). Non-smoking preferred, but it's not a big deal if you smoke outside. Be respectful, considerate, and don't make lots of noise when people are sleeping. At the same time, don't bottle things up: if you have a problem, say something about it (No excessive passive-aggressiveness!).

Email me at micahellison@gmail.com for more info if you're interested and we'll meet up with you to work things out and show you the house.
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 2 comments